Time zone(s)

Time zones in our destinations are pretty straight-forward. Here is a short list of all the differences and changes you need to know.


Mainland time zone is GMT/UTC minus 5 hours.

Ecuador Time (ECT), as named by the IANA time zone database, is the time observed in mainland Ecuador since 1931. Ecuador Time is at UTC-05:00[1] and has no daylight saving, except for a brief period in the 1990s during the government of president Sixto Durán Ballén. This means Ecuador without Galápagos Province, which observed Ecuador Time until 1986, when it switched to Galápagos Time (GALT), at UTC-06:00.[1]

Galapagos time zone

is GMT/UTC minus 6 hours.

There are no seasonal changes (daylight saving time) throughout the year.

Galápagos Time (GALT) is the time observed since 1986 in the province of Galápagos, which is coterminous with the Región Insular (Insular Region) of western Ecuador. Galápagos Time is at UTC-06:00. The rest of Ecuador, the mainland, observes Ecuador Time.

Peru and Colombia time zones

are both also GMT/UTC minus 5 hours. No seasonal changes apply.


  • Colombia has one, and its called Colombia Time (COT), which is located in the UTC−05:00 zone, 5 hours behind Coordinated Universal Time (UTC). Its standard abbreviation is COT.
  • Colombia does not observe daylight saving time, but used it during eleven months between May 1992 and April 1993.


  • Peru Time (PET) is the official time zone in Peru. It is always 5 hours behind Coordinated Universal Time (UTC−05:00). Peru has only one and does not observe daylight saving time. During the winter (summer in the Northern Hemisphere), Peruvian Time is the same as North American Central Time, while during the summer (winter in the Northern Hemisphere) it is the same as Eastern Time.


Skip to content